English Language Arts_What's New

English Language Arts

What's New

K–9 curriculum

Among the key revisions made to the English Language Arts (ELA) K–9 draft curriculum posted in 2015 are the following:

  • The Big Ideas have been created to be understandings that students can arrive at themselves through engaging with the learning standards of the curriculum
  • The focus of the Curricular Competencies is clarified by the addition of words in parentheses showing which language arts strands are primarily addressed:
    • Comprehend and Connect (reading, listening, viewing), representing the “receptive” modes
    • Create and Communicate (writing, speaking, representing), representing the “expressive" modes
  • Curricular Competencies reflect a more clearly articulated progression of learning expectations as students advance through the grades
  • Further Elaborations are included throughout the curriculum. Some Elaborations are repeated across grade levels to avoid prescription and to allow teachers to use professional judgment in selecting specific aspects of Elaborations according to the needs of the learner and the learning context. However, many Elaborations express increasingly elevated expectations across grade levels, showing a continuum of growth
  • The definitions of “story” and “text” have been minimally revised
  • The redesigned curriculum includes a greater focus on the importance of identity, culture, and multiple perspectives; the joy of reading a variety of materials, including story and informational text; and First Peoples content, worldviews, and Principles of Learning

All six of the language arts elements — reading, listening, viewing, writing, speaking, and representing — remain inextricably interwoven in the ELA K–12 curriculum.

Draft English Language Arts Grades 10–12 curriculum

The ELA 10–12 curriculum is now fully developed, building on the proposal posted in 2015.

The curricular elements in the draft ELA Grade 10–12 curriculum are the same as those in the
K–9 curriculum (i.e., Big Ideas, Curricular Competencies, Content, and Elaborations). The learning progression that begins in Kindergarten is therefore continued right through to Grade 12.

The draft English Language Arts 10–12 curriculum continues to include a choice of English 10–12 or English First Peoples (EFP) 10–12. These two courses are academically equivalent, and both are accepted for entrance to post-secondary education. The EFP 10–12 draft curriculum has been revised to align with the Know-Do-Understand model of learning.

To support the range of learning environments, program models, and school structures in
secondary schools throughout British Columbia, the English 10–12 and English First Peoples 10–12 curricula include both a Grade 12 course representing essential learning in English Language Arts that students must take, as well as areas of choice. Both the Grade 11 areas of choice and the Grade 12 course may be taken in either Grade 11 or Grade 12.

The English 10–12 and English First Peoples 10–12 curricula include five areas of choice. Students may take the same area of choice at two different levels — for example, Composition 10 and Composition 11 — to allow them to explore a particular area with greater depth, complexity, and sophistication.

The five areas of choice for ELA 10 and 11 and EFP 10 and 11 are:

  • Composition (10 and 11)
  • Creative Writing (10 and 11)
  • Focused Literary Studies (10 and 11)
  • New Media (10 and 11)
  • Spoken Language (10 and 11)

The learning standards of the Grade 12 course are common to those in the areas of choice to ensure that students are equipped with a comprehensive range of language arts skills and abilities, regardless of which areas of choice they may take.

The Introduction to the English Language Arts curriculum provides further information about the redesigned K–12 curriculum.

Last updated: May 23, 2017