Provincial assessment

Join us: B.C. Educators wanted for Provincial Assessment Development. Learn more


Provincial assessments are changing to align with the new curriculum. They provide a snapshot of student performance in key areas and, over time, can help to monitor key outcomes of B.C.’s education system.

B.C.’s provincial assessments remain rigorous and based on learning standards to evaluate student achievement, Core Competencies, and literacy and numeracy skills.

Foundation Skills Assessment

The Foundation Skills Assessment (FSA) is a Grade 4 and Grade 7 assessment of literacy and numeracy skills. Because the FSA is an important indicator of future achievement, all students are expected to take part in the assessment.

Foundation Skills Assessment – Grade 4 and Grade 7

Graduation Assessments

Graduation assessments are changing to align with the new curriculum. As part of the updated graduation requirements, students in the B.C. Graduation Program will complete three provincial assessments. These assessments focus on the demonstration and application of numeracy and literacy.

Supporting Information