Pensée critique et réflexive

La pensée critique et réflexive englobe un ensemble d’aptitudes que l’élève emploie lors de l’introspection et de l’analyse des réflexions des autres. Ceci signifie qu’il porte des jugements fondés sur le raisonnement, après avoir tenu compte de plusieurs options qu’il a analysées selon certains critères, pour en tirer des conclusions.

L’élève qui fait preuve de pensée critique et réflexive a l’esprit d’analyse et d’investigation, est prêt à se questionner et à remettre en doute ses propres réflexions, idées et suppositions, de même que celles des autres. Il analyse l’information qu’on lui transmet sous forme d’observations, d’expériences ou d’autres formes de communication pour résoudre des problèmes, concevoir des produits, comprendre des événements et surmonter des difficultés. L’élève qui fait preuve de pensée critique s’appuie sur ses idées, son expérience et ses réflexions pour se fixer des objectifs, porter des jugements et affiner son raisonnement.

 

Analyser et critiquer

L’élève apprend à analyser et à juger un travail, une position, une démarche, une présentation ou le produit ou l’action d’un autre. Il réfléchit de sorte à tenir compte de l’objectif et des points de vue, à faire ressortir les données probantes, à se référer à des critères explicites et implicites, à proposer des jugements ou une analyse défendables et à tirer des conclusions. L’élève a l’occasion d’analyser et de critiquer en participant à des tâches formelles ou informelles ou lors d’activités régulières.

Questionner et investiguer

L’élève apprend par l’investigation lorsqu’il identifie et explore des questions, des défis, des enjeux importants ou des situations problématiques dans ses études, dans sa vie, dans son milieu et dans les médias. Il élabore et affine des questions, dresse des plans et les exécute, rassemble, interprète et synthétise de l’information et des données, et réfléchit pour en tirer des conclusions logiques. Certaines activités liées à la pensée critique peuvent porter sur l’un des aspects du processus, comme de questionner et d’en arriver à une conclusion simple, tandis que d’autres peuvent nécessiter une recherche plus complexe, qui demande une profonde réflexion.

Concevoir et développer

L’élève a recours à la pensée critique pour développer ses idées. Celles-ci peuvent mener à la conception de produits ou de méthodes ou à la préparation de spectacles ou de représentations pour résoudre un problème ou une question, combler un besoin ou régler une situation. L’élève travaille dans un but bien défini et tient compte des utilisateurs ou auditoires éventuels auxquels son travail est destiné. Il explore les possibilités, élabore et étudie des processus, suit attentivement ses progrès et modifie les procédures en fonction de critères et de commentaires reçus.

Réfléchir et évaluer

L’élève a recours à la pensée critique, métacognitive et réflexive dans certaines situations, et fait le rapprochement avec d’autres expériences, en suivant cette démarche pour trouver des façons d’améliorer ou d’adapter sa méthode d’apprentissage. Il examine et évalue ses expériences, réflexions, méthodes d’apprentissage, travaux et progrès par rapport à ses objectifs. L’élève exprime et reçoit des commentaires et prend les mesures qui s’imposent, et se fixe des objectifs personnels et collectifs. Il détermine dans quelle mesure il a atteint ses objectifs et s’en fixe de nouveaux.

PROFILE DESCRIPTION

Premier profil

Je suis capable d’explorer.

Je suis capable d’explorer du matériel et des projets. Je suis capable de montrer si quelque chose me plaît ou non. 

Deuxième profil

Je suis capable de porter un jugement simple à partir de données.

Je pose des questions, fais des prédictions et utilise ma logique pour rassembler de l’information. J’explore en ayant en tête un objectif et j’utilise ce que j’apprends. Je peux dire ou montrer aux autres ce que je pense. Je peux aider à définir des critères simples et les utiliser. Je suis capable de trouver des données et de poser un jugement. Je suis capable de réfléchir sur mon travail et mes expériences et de raconter aux autres ce que j’ai appris. 

Troisième profil

Je pose des questions et tiens compte des options. Je me sers de mes observations, de mon expérience et de mon imagination pour tirer des conclusions et porter un jugement.

Je pose des questions ouvertes, j’explore et je rassemble de l’information. J’expérimente à des fins précises pour développer des options. Je peux aider à définir des critères et les utiliser. Je me sers de mes observations, de mon expérience et de mon imagination pour tirer des conclusions, porter un jugement et poser de nouvelles questions. Je suis capable de décrire ma pensée et la façon dont elle évolue. Je suis capable de me fixer des objectifs personnels et de fixer des objectifs de groupe. Je peux faire le rapprochement entre ce que j’apprends et mes expériences, mes efforts et mes objectifs. J’exprime et reçois des commentaires constructifs. 

Quatrième profil

Je rassemble de nouvelles données et je les combine à ce que je connais déjà pour en dégager des conclusions logiques, porter des jugements ou élaborer des plans.

Je me sers de mes connaissances et de ce que j’observe pour discerner les problèmes et poser des questions. J’explore le matériel et les sources et je m’en sers. Je suis capable de déterminer et d’adapter des critères, de vérifier de l’information, d’évaluer mes réflexions et de dégager des conclusions logiques, de porter des jugements ou d’élaborer des plans. J’examine plusieurs façons de procéder et fais des choix selon mon raisonnement et ce que je vise à accomplir. Je suis capable d’évaluer mes propres efforts et expériences et de me fixer de nouveaux objectifs. J’exprime et reçois des commentaires constructifs et je prends les mesures qui s’imposent. 

Cinquième profil

J’évalue et utilise des données soigneusement choisies pour les interpréter, trouver d’autres solutions, points de vue et conséquences, et porter un jugement. Je suis capable d’évaluer mes réflexions et de les moduler.

Je pose des questions et propose des jugements, des conclusions et des interprétations fondés sur des données rassemblées par moi-même ou par d’autres. Je suis flexible et ouvert d’esprit; je suis capable d’expliquer plus d’un point de vue et d’en examiner les conséquences. Je rassemble, sélectionne, évalue et synthétise de l’information. J’examine d’autres approches et fais des choix stratégiques. Je prends des risques et j’ai conscience que je ne réussirai peut-être pas immédiatement. J’évalue mes réflexions, cherche à connaître l’opinion des autres, réévalue mon travail et apporte les modulations nécessaires. Je représente ce que j’ai appris et mes objectifs, et fais le rapprochement avec mes expériences antérieures. J’accepte les commentaires constructifs et je m’en sers pour avancer.

Sixième profil

J’examine les données sous différents angles durant leur analyse et j’avance des jugements et des interprétations bien fondés sur des questions complexes.

Je suis capable d’établir mon propre cadre et mes propres critères pour les activités qui requièrent une pensée critique. Je compile les données et j’en tire des conclusions logiques. J’examine les points de vue qui ne correspondent pas à ma compréhension des choses. Je suis ouvert d’esprit et patient, je prends le temps d’explorer, de découvrir et de comprendre. Je fais des choix qui m’aident à produire l’effet voulu sur un auditoire ou une situation. Je suis capable de mettre mon travail et celui des autres dans une perspective plus large. Je suis capable de faire le lien entre les résultats de mes recherches et de mes analyses et les gestes à accomplir. Je suis capable d’exprimer la conscience aiguë que j’ai de mes forces, de mes aspirations et de l’influence de mes expériences et de mon vécu sur mes cadres de référence et mes critères. Je peux recourir à la terminologie qui convient pour présenter des analyses détaillées de mes progrès, efforts et objectifs.

 

Les compétences essentielles sont reliées entre elles ainsi qu’à tous les aspects de l’apprentissage.

Liens entre les compétences essentielles

Les compétences essentielles sont intimement liées et interdépendantes. Ensemble, elles forment l’assise de tous les aspects de l’apprentissage. La pensée critique et réflexive s’imbrique à l’ensemble des autres compétences essentielles.

 La compétence de communication

La pensée critique et réflexive est intimement liée aux deux sous-compétences de la compétence essentielle de communication : l’interaction et la collaboration. Par exemple :

La pensée critique et réflexive et la pensée créatrice se chevauchent. Par exemple :

  • L’élève pratique la pensée créatrice pour trouver de nouvelles idées afin de résoudre des problèmes et lever les contraintes qui surviennent en cours de questionnement et de recherche d’information, ainsi que lors de la conception et du développement.
  • L’élève pratique la pensée critique pour analyser et examiner les idées créatives en vue d’établir si elles ont de la valeur et devraient être développées, participant ainsi à une réflexion continue lors du développement de ses idées créatives.

La compétence de communication

La pensée critique et réflexive est intimement liée aux deux sous-compétences de la compétence essentielle de communication : l’interaction et la collaboration. Par exemple :

  • L’élève a recours à la pensée critique pour acquérir et interpréter de l’information, ainsi que pour faire des choix sur la méthode à employer pour communiquer ses idées.
  • L’élève collabore souvent lorsqu’il analyse, critique, conçoit et développe en groupe.

 La compétence personnelle et sociale

La pensée critique et réflexive est étroitement liée aux trois sous-compétences de la compétence essentielle personnelle et sociale, soit conscience de soi et responsabilité personnelle, conscience et responsabilité sociales et identité personnelle et culturelle positive. Par exemple :

  • L’élève a recours à la pensée critique pour déterminer ses responsabilités personnelles et sociales.
  • L’élève pratique la conscience de soi lorsqu’il se penche sur ses efforts et ses objectifs.

Liens avec les domaines d’apprentissage

La pensée critique et réflexive est ancrée dans les compétences disciplinaires du programme d’études, axé sur les concepts et orienté vers les compétences. Les compétences disciplinaires portent essentiellement sur la « mise en pratique » dans un domaine d’apprentissage et comptent les habiletés, les processus et les habitudes mentales requis pour chaque discipline. Par exemple, la sous-compétence de pensée critique et réflexive peut se manifester dans certaines recherches d’information permettant de développer les grandes idées scientifiques suivantes :

  • Il est possible de produire de la lumière et du son et de moduler leurs propriétés : Comment peux-tu explorer les propriétés de la lumière et du son? Quelles découvertes as-tu faites? (Sciences 1)
  • La matière a une masse, occupe un volume et peut changer de phase : Comment peux-tu explorer les phases de la matière? Comment la matière change-t-elle de phase? Quelle incidence la chaleur et le froid ont-ils sur les changements de phases? (Sciences 4)
  • Les éléments sont formés d’une seule sorte d’atome et les composés sont constitués d’atomes différents liés ensemble chimiquement : Quelles sont les similitudes et les différences entre les éléments et les composés? Comment peux-tu explorer les propriétés des éléments et des composés? (Sciences 7)
  • La théorie du big bang permet d’expliquer la formation de l’Univers : Comment pourrait-on représenter la formation de l’Univers? (Sciences 10)

Persistence

A student explains how he learned to be persistent and why that trait is important to him.

Sub-competencies:

Magnetic Wand

A student explores magnetic properties using a magnetic wand.

Sub-competencies:

Artistic Explorations of Identity

Over time, a student develops a body of creative work exploring the theme of identity.

Sub-competencies:

Interview

A student reflects on the personal experiences that have changed his goals and aspirations.

Sub-competencies:

Portfolio Review and Reflection

During a portfolio review, students reflect on their writing, set goals, and create a plan for moving forward.

Sub-competencies:

Asking for Math Help

A student approaches a teacher with her concerns about her progress in math.

Sub-competencies:

"Just" Jeans

Students explore issues related to the manufacturing of jeans in sweatshops.

Sub-competencies:

Making Submersibles

After creating submersibles, students reflected on their creation process and the challenges they encountered.

Sub-competencies:

Mind Map

Students create a mind map to assess and reflect on their learning.

Sub-competencies:

Stacking and Building

Students generate and develop a variety of ideas when challenged to see how high they can stack provided materials.

Sub-competencies:

Sharing Cookies

Students work together to solve an open-ended problem about sharing cookies.

Sub-competencies:

Roller Coaster

As part of an engineering study, students work collaboratively to build, test, and adapt roller coasters.

Sub-competencies:

Osmosis Experiment with Gummy Bears

Students work in small groups to design an experiment that explores the effects of different salt solutions on gummy bears.

Sub-competencies:

Finding the Area Under a Curve

A student develops, evaluates, and revises a process for calculating the area under a curve.

Sub-competencies:

Exploring Objects

A student uses her senses to explore a toy bear and rocks.

Sub-competencies:

Artistic Representation of Hotels

During an architecture project, a student uses found materials to represent that hotels simultaneously act as public space and private refuge.

Sub-competencies:

Organizing an Orange Shirt Day

A student, inspired by a novel about a girl’s residential school experience, gathers further information and, four years later, organizes an Orange Shirt Day at her school.

Sub-competencies:

Hold High the Torch

After meeting veterans at a Remembrance Day event, a student forms a group dedicated to intergenerational connections between students and veterans.

Sub-competencies:

Inquiry: How Do Artists Best Express How They Think or Feel?

A student inquired into how artists express themselves, and produced an authentic piece of her own.

Sub-competencies:

Exploring Factors that Effect Motion

Students collaboratively create ramps to explore the forces that effect motion.

Sub-competencies:

Exploration of Future Careers

A student explores possible future careers.

Sub-competencies:

Debate on Gun Control in United States

Les élèves participent à une simulation de débat de l’ONU sur le contrôle des armes à feu aux États‑Unis en tenant compte du point de vue de divers États

Sub-competencies:

Phobia versus Fear

Students research phobias to distinguish between phobias as fear and then discuss and reflect on reactions to SOGI.

Sub-competencies:

Interviewing an Older Adult

Students were asked to interview an “older adult from the community” and this student chose to interview a long-time neighbour.

Sub-competencies:

Final Exam Video Reflection

A student completes a comprehensive reflection of their learning experiences as a final exam in a STEM program.

Sub-competencies:

Duct Tape Wallets

A student makes duct tape wallets as a hobby.

Sub-competencies:

Mousetrap Car

Students build mousetrap cars made from household materials and participated in a Mousetrap Car Competition.

Sub-competencies:

Essay on the Movie "Gattaca"

A student applies what he knows about genetics to critique the movie "Gattaca".

Sub-competencies:

Dinosaur Battle

A student shares his reasoning about which group of dinosaurs would win a battle.

Sub-competencies:

Designing Your Own Robot

After doing a report on robots and assembling a robot from a kit, a student designs his own robot.

Sub-competencies:

Mars Mission

Students present their application for the Mars One project, explaining how they would be suited to the project and how they would deal with issues they would likely face.

Sub-competencies:

Save Fred: Collaborative Problem-solving

Students work in groups on a problem-solving challenge called “Save Fred”.

Sub-competencies:

Critical Thinking and Reflective Thinking

Critical and Reflective Thinking encompasses a set of abilities that students use to examine their own thinking and that of others. This involves making judgments based on reasoning, where students consider options, analyze options using specific criteria, and draw conclusions.

People who think critically and reflectively are analytical and investigative, willing to question and challenge their own thoughts, ideas, and assumptions and challenge those of others. They reflect on the information they receive through observation, experience, and other forms of communication to solve problems, design products, understand events, and address issues. A critical thinker uses their ideas, experiences, and reflections to set goals, make judgments, and refine their thinking.

 

Analyzing and critiquing

Students learn to analyze and make judgments about a work, a position, a process, a performance, or another product or act. They reflect to consider purpose and perspectives, pinpoint evidence, use explicit or implicit criteria, make defensible judgments or assessments, and draw conclusions. Students have opportunities for analysis and critique through engagement in formal tasks, informal tasks, and ongoing activities.

Questioning and investigating

Students learn to engage in inquiry when they identify and investigate questions, challenges, key issues, or problematic situations in their studies, lives, and communities and in the media. They develop and refine questions; create and carry out plans; gather, interpret, and synthesize information and evidence; and reflect to draw reasoned conclusions. Critical thinking activities may focus on one part of the process, such as questioning, and reach a simple conclusion, while others may involve more complex inquiry requiring extensive thought and reflection.

Designing and developing

Students think critically to develop ideas. Their ideas may lead to the designing of products or methods or the development of performances and representations in response to problems, events, issues, and needs. They work with clear purpose and consider the potential uses or audiences of their work. They explore possibilities, develop and reflect on processes, monitor progress, and adjust procedures in light of criteria and feedback.

Reflecting and assessing

Students apply critical, metacognitive, and reflective thinking in given situations, and relate this thinking to other experiences, using this process to identify ways to improve or adapt their approach to learning. They reflect on and assess their experiences, thinking, learning processes, work, and progress in relation to their purposes. Students give, receive, and act on feedback and set goals individually and collaboratively. They determine the extent to which they have met their goals and can set new ones.

PROFILE DESCRIPTION

PROFILE
ONE

I can explore.

I can explore materials and actions. I can show whether I like something or not.

PROFILE
TWO

I can use evidence to make simple judgments.

I can ask questions, make predictions, and use my senses to gather information. I can explore with a purpose in mind and use what I learn. I can tell or show others something about my thinking. I can contribute to and use simple criteria. I can find some evidence and make judgments. I can reflect on my work and experiences and tell others about something I learned.

PROFILE
THREE

I can ask questions and consider options. I can use my observations, experience, and imagination to draw conclusions and make judgments.

I can ask open-ended questions, explore, and gather information. I experiment purposefully to develop options. I can contribute to and use criteria. I use observation, experience, and imagination to draw conclusions, make judgments, and ask new questions. I can describe my thinking and how it is changing. I can establish goals individually and with others. I can connect my learning with my experiences, efforts, and goals. I give and receive constructive feedback. 

PROFILE
FOUR

I can gather and combine new evidence with what I already know to develop reasoned conclusions, judgments, or plans.

I can use what I know and observe to identify problems and ask questions. I explore and engage with materials and sources. I can develop or adapt criteria, check information, assess my thinking, and develop reasoned conclusions, judgments, or plans. I consider more than one way to proceed and make choices based on my reasoning and what I am trying to do. I can assess my own efforts and experiences and identify new goals. I give, receive, and act on constructive feedback. 

PROFILE
FIVE

I can evaluate and use well-chosen evidence to develop interpretations; identify alternatives, perspectives, and implications; and make judgments. I can examine and adjust my thinking.

I can ask questions and offer judgments, conclusions, and interpretations supported by evidence I or others have gathered. I am flexible and open-minded; I can explain more than one perspective and consider implications. I can gather, select, evaluate, and synthesize information. I consider alternative approaches and make strategic choices. I take risks and recognize that I may not be immediately successful. I examine my thinking, seek feedback, reassess my work, and adjust. I represent my learning and my goals and connect these with my previous experiences. I accept constructive feedback and use it to move forward.

PROFILE
SIX

I can examine evidence from various perspectives to analyze and make well-supported judgments about and interpretations of complex issues.

I can determine my own framework and criteria for tasks that involve critical thinking. I can compile evidence and draw reasoned conclusions. I consider perspectives that do not fit with my understandings. I am open-minded and patient, taking the time to explore, discover, and understand. I make choices that will help me create my intended impact on an audience or situation. I can place my work and that of others in a broader context. I can connect the results of my inquiries and analyses with action. I can articulate a keen awareness of my strengths, my aspirations and how my experiences and contexts affect my frameworks and criteria. I can offer detailed analysis, using specific terminology, of my progress, work, and goals. 

 

The Core Competencies relate to each other and with every aspect of learning.

Connections among Core Competencies

The Core Competencies are interrelated and interdependent. Taken together, the competencies are foundational to every aspect of learning. Critical and Reflective Thinking is intertwined with all the other Core Competencies.

 Thinking

Critical and Reflective Thinking is one of the Thinking Core Competency’s two interrelated sub-competencies, Creative Thinking and Critical and Reflective Thinking.

Critical and Reflective Thinking and Creative Thinking overlap. For example:

  • Students use creative thinking to generate new ideas when solving problems and addressing constraints that arise as they question and investigate, and design and develop.
  • Students use critical thinking to analyze and reflect on creative ideas to determine whether they have value and should be developed, engaging in ongoing reflection as they develop their creative ideas.

Communication

Critical and Reflective Thinking is closely related to the two Communication sub-competencies: Communicating and Collaborating. For example:

  • Students apply critical thinking to acquire and interpret information, and to make choices about how to communicate their ideas.
  • Students often collaborate as they work in groups to analyze and critique, and design and develop.

Personal and Social

Critical and Reflective Thinking is closely related to the three Personal and Social sub-competencies, Personal Awareness and Responsibility, Social Awareness and Responsibility, and Positive Personal and Cultural Identity. For example:

  • Students think critically to determine their personal and social responsibilities.
  • Students apply their personal awareness as they reflect on their efforts and goals.

 

Connections with areas of learning

Critical and Reflective Thinking is embedded within the curricular competencies of the concept-based, competency-driven curriculum. Curricular competencies are focused on the “doing” within the area of learning and include skills, processes, and habits of mind required by the discipline. For example, the Critical and Reflective Thinking sub-competency can be seen in the sample inquiry questions that elaborate on the following Big Ideas in Science:

  • Light and sound can be produced and their properties can be changed: How can you explore the properties of light and sound? What discoveries did you make? (Science 1)
  • Matter has mass, takes up space, and can change phase: How can you explore the phases of matter? How does matter change phases? How does heating and cooling affect phase changes? (Science 4)
  • Elements consist of one type of atom, and compounds consist of atoms of different elements chemically combined: What are the similarities and differences elements and compounds? How can you investigate the properties of elements and compounds? (Science 7)
  • The formation of the universe can be explained by the big bang theory: How could you model the formation of the universe? (Science 10)

Artistic Explorations of Identity

Over time, a student develops a body of creative work exploring the theme of identity.

Sub-competencies:

Inquiry: How Do Artists Best Express How They Think or Feel?

A student inquired into how artists express themselves, and produced an authentic piece of her own.

Sub-competencies:

What is a Family?

Students investigated the question, “What is a family”, and reflected on their own families.

Sub-competencies:

Interviewing an Older Adult

Students were asked to interview an “older adult from the community” and this student chose to interview a long-time neighbour.

Sub-competencies:

Phobia versus Fear

Students research phobias to distinguish between phobias as fear and then discuss and reflect on reactions to SOGI.

Sub-competencies:

Debate on Gun Control in United States

Students participate in a Model UN debate on gun control in the United States by taking the perspectives of various states.

Sub-competencies:

Exploration of Future Careers

A student explores possible future careers.

Sub-competencies:

Exploring Factors that Effect Motion

Students collaboratively create ramps to explore the forces that effect motion.

Sub-competencies:

Designing Animal Habitats

Students use classroom materials to design models of animal habitats that provide animals with what they need to survive.

Sub-competencies:

Final Exam Video Reflection

A student completes a comprehensive reflection of their learning experiences as a final exam in a STEM program.

Sub-competencies:

Volunteering at an Urban Mission

A student is moved to spontaneously reflect on his views on homelessness and poverty after volunteering at an urban mission.

Sub-competencies:

Number Talk

A student participates in a number talk and then reflects on her ability to communicate her thinking during these talks.

Sub-competencies:

Recording Observations with Loose Parts

A student uses “loose parts” to record his observations of seasonal changes in the local environment.

Sub-competencies:

Happy, Healthy Fish

A student builds a model of an aquarium that would keep fish happy and healthy.

Sub-competencies:

Organizing an Orange Shirt Day

A student, inspired by a novel about a girl’s residential school experience, gathers further information and, four years later, organizes an Orange Shirt Day at her school.

Sub-competencies:

Hold High the Torch

After meeting veterans at a Remembrance Day event, a student forms a group dedicated to intergenerational connections between students and veterans.

Sub-competencies: